VIDEO: Shanaka was out on 98, Rohit Sharma Withdraws the appeal of Run-out
India won the 1st ODI match against Srilanka in Guwahati and lead the ODI series by 1-0. The match was complete domination by Indian batsmen. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill gives a good start to the innings and made a partnership of 150 Runs. Virat Kohli coming late in the innings scored his 45th ODI century and took the score to 373.
However, an incident happens during Srilankan’s innings which are going viral on Social media. It was at the end of the match India was winning the match. Dasun Shanaka, the captain of Srilanka was 2 runs away from his century. But Muhammad Shami tried to out Shanaka by mankading technique.
#mankading #Dashun was on 98* at not striker end when @MdShami11 mankaded him. Within a few seconds #Rohit withdrew the appeal. I hope #Surajrandiv could think about it for @virendersehwag when he was on 99* and no ball was delivered.#INDvSL #Shami #Shanaka #fairplay #sports pic.twitter.com/4MVtKe2Z43
— INI (Inside News India) (@DPNewsWorld) January 11, 2023
The umpire on the field immediately takes the appeal to 3rd Umpire. But Rohit Sharma immediately reacts to the situation and withdraw the appeal of the Umpire. Rohit Sharma discussed with Shami to withdraw the appeal. Srilankan captain completes his century after a while.
The video entire video is going viral on Social Media. Rohit Sharma again is getting lots of appreciation from fans.
After the match in Post match conference, Rohit Sharma told that I don’t know if Shami had done that Shanaka was at 98 and he was batting very fine.
India will again Meet Srilanka on 12 January in Eden garden Kolkata for the 2nd ODI match.